Pate Museum and Swap Meet History
The Pate Museum of Transportation opened in August, 1969. Its purpose in the beginning was to showcase the automobile collection of brothers A. M. Pate, Jr. and Sebert Pate. They began collecting cars in the late 1940s. As the collection grew, the idea of displaying the cars for others to enjoy was born.
When the museum opened, only 15 collector cars were displayed. Now, the Pate collection boasts 68 antique, classic and special interest cars. And since 1969, aircraft, a minesweeper boat and a private railroad car were added to the collection. A 1500 volume library is available for reading and research.
The Pate museum is located on U.S. 377 between Fort Worth and Cresson. Texas. Admission is free and the hours are from 9 AM to 5 PM Tuesday through Sunday.
The Pate Swap Meet was founded in 1972 as the South Central Swap Meet. The name was changed in the late 1970s because everyone referred to the swap meet as “Pate”.
The swap meet was the brain child of Barney Calvert, who was then a member of the Gulf Coast Region AACA. He felt a swap meet in the central states would be successful as the only large meet at the time was in Hershey, PA.
In early 1971. Barney met with Pate officials and car clubs to form the swap meet. The charter member clubs produced the first swap meet in 1972. A little over 300 spaces were sold.
The rest is history! Now the third largest swap meet with over 6,000 spaces, the Pate swap meet is world renown.
Please note that as of 2010 the “Pate Museum” is CLOSED.